7 years ago#1
AtomicDog
Junior Member
Blogs: 0
Forum: 32
Votes: 1

I got a Selmer Paris Super Action 80 Alto Sax from a pawn shop for $250. I use to play a Mark VII some years back. What is your all opinion on the original Super Action 80? Is it better then the Mark VII? Are the newer Super Action 80's better?I also own and play a Yamaha YAS 61. Between the Super Action 80 and the Yamaha YAS 61, which is the true pro horn? Thank you for your opinions.

Further communication on this topic has been disabled.
7 years ago#2
wonghinfan
Junior Member
Blogs: 0
Forum: 29
Votes: 0

The 61 started production before the SA80. Both were the top horn for their respective company. I believe any choice between the two is personal preference, I don't think there is anything in construction or design that one could point to and say 'This is not up to pro standards.' Many people like the SA80 over the MkVII, but there are many that prefer the MkVII. Again they were the top horn at the time, and a choice is personal preference. Which do you prefer and why? Mark Bushaw

Further communication on this topic has been disabled.
7 years ago#3
wonghinfan
Junior Member
Blogs: 0
Forum: 29
Votes: 0

$250??? Whoa. That's a steal. What's the condition?

Further communication on this topic has been disabled.
7 years ago#4
Transplutonian
Junior Member
Blogs: 0
Forum: 24
Votes: 0

Steve, the neck, bore and keywork were too different between the MkVI and MkVII to exchange parts. It's a myth that early VII's had many VI parts. They were good horns because they were good, they don't need VI parts to be good (as you obviously know). Mark Bushaw

Further communication on this topic has been disabled.
7 years ago#5
Hecuba
Junior Member
Blogs: 0
Forum: 25
Votes: 0

On 9/3/01 10:03 AM, in article

I have a silver Mark VII neck that kicks butt on my VI if I want a darker sound. Fits just fine.

Further communication on this topic has been disabled.
7 years ago#6
callisto601
Junior Member
Blogs: 0
Forum: 26
Votes: 0

Yes, and I often use a MkVI neck on my BA alto to add more upper harmonics. The fact that we notice a difference helps to prove that there are differences. Mark Bushaw

Further communication on this topic has been disabled.
7 years ago#7
johnke7cw
Junior Member
Blogs: 0
Forum: 29
Votes: 1

On 9/3/01 4:23 PM, in article

The best combination I ever had was a Super Balanced Action neck On a very early Mark VI tenor. Had to sell the SBA coz of a divorce.

Further communication on this topic has been disabled.
7 years ago#8
srua
Junior Member
Blogs: 0
Forum: 33
Votes: 0

I've heard Oleg mention several 'name' players (who he wouldn't name!) that continue to use their SBA tenor necks on the saxes that they were endorsing. He said he had to make small adjustments to get the SBA necks to work, but the customer was not going to change. (And then proceeded to try to sell me an Oleg neck that was even better.) A bandmate has what has to be the greatest MkVI alto neck in existence. It makes his BA easy blowing, sounds like a VI, in tune, all the things you could want (and he claims it washes his car on weekends, but I've seen his car and it's not washed very well). He was given the horn and neck from a very old repair tech that was dying of cancer. Frustrating to know it can be done, and not knowing how to do it or who can do it for you. Mark Bushaw

Further communication on this topic has been disabled.
By entering this site you declare you read and agreed to its Terms, Rules & Privacy and you understand that your use of the site's content is made at your own risk and responsibility.
Copyright © 2006 - 2015 Saxophone People